Bauman College Programs

Author Topic: Gastric Sleeve Client  (Read 1457 times)

Offline sheilahunt

• Alumni
Gastric Sleeve Client
« on: January 14, 2018, 04:31:15 PM »
All,
I'm in my second semester of the Nutrition Consultant program and have someone who is willing to work with me for the class.  She admits she had a gastric sleeve surgery about 6 years ago. 
I'm searching for reliable research on the topic of gastric sleeve and nutrient absorption or lack there of. 
Have any of you worked with a gastric sleeve client and how was your experience?  Anything I need to be aware of?
Thanks in Advance.
Sheila

Offline paulaalexander

• Alumni
Re: Gastric Sleeve Client
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2018, 04:18:55 PM »
Sheila,   I am a new student in the NC program but think that this is a very interesting question.  I don't know the answer, However I found these sites which I thought may be helpful.   https://www.bariatricpal.com/topic/375185-plant-based-diet-after-bariatric-surgery/  &  http://www.laparoscopic.md/bariatric/sleeve/what-digestive-changes-occur-after-gastric-sleeve-surgery & https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4391395/
We are just beginning to study about the absorption that occurs in the digestive system.  I am looking forward to learning more.   I wonder on which part of the digestive system the sleeve alters the most as that would affect absorption I would imagine. 
« Last Edit: February 19, 2018, 04:31:15 PM by paulaalexander »
Health is my greatest wealth!

Offline paulaalexander

• Alumni
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2018, 10:23:55 AM »
Sheila,  I also came across  Dr. Garth Davis he is a bariatric  physician who now promotes the WFPB lifestyle.  He has U tube videos.  also check out Chuck Carroll on pcrm.org podcast and his website http://www.theweightlosschampion.com he went through the surgery.