Bauman College Programs

Author Topic: Adding algae -- need recipes  (Read 6364 times)

Offline MiraD

• Alumni
    • Grains&More
Adding algae -- need recipes
« on: October 06, 2007, 10:43:42 AM »
I'm a DLNE student and recently decided to add spirulina and chlorella to my diet as I feel these booster foods would be quite useful.  My problem is that I need recipes and I'm also wondering about amounts.  I tried to make a shake using beet juice, kale, and 1 t. each of spirulina and chlorella.  I hate to say this but it tasted awful!  I couldn't choke the whole thing (8 oz) down.  The recommended serving size on my containers is 1 T. each but I thought that might be too much to start with.  Should I take them separately and is there something that will disguise the taste a bit?

Thanks for any help with this.

Offline susan

• Faculty
  • Susan Arthur
Re: Adding algae -- need recipes
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2007, 02:52:45 PM »
When someone is using greens for the first time, I usually recommend they start small and build up as green powders can sometimes be a bit too cleansing. As little as a teaspoon per day for the first week increasing to a heaping tablespoon over time. Adding greens to smoothies using fresh fruit and water or almond milk, hazelnut milk or rice milk is how I have found works best. You can also add a protein powder if you like. Whey or hemp powders are great and you can hardly taste the greens. Yum!
Certified Nutritional Consultant
Personal Nutrition & Lifestyle Consultant; Transformations in Health
Bauman College Instructor
DL Mentor
Reiki Master
Behavior Modification Counselor/Trainer

Offline MiraD

• Alumni
    • Grains&More
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2007, 04:59:55 PM »
Okay Susan, I'll try it.  I confess my first experience was so nasty the jars are just sitting in the pantry.  I'll try one first then maybe add the other to a smoothie.  I'll let you know how it works out.

Offline Marlina E

• Associate Director
  • Administrator