Bauman College Programs

Author Topic: harvesting wild dandelion  (Read 6590 times)

Offline RobinJ

• Alumni
harvesting wild dandelion
« on: January 19, 2009, 01:05:10 PM »
Hello!

I have wild dandelion growing all over my backyard. My acupuncturist says I have liver stagnation and I have ongoing bowels issues (mostly loose) Has anyone had any experience with harvesting wild dandelion for use with these conditions?

Thanks,
Robin

Offline jodi f.

• Curriculum Consultant
  • Staff
Re: harvesting wild dandelion
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 05:27:43 PM »
I've been eating wild dandelion leaves since 1989, when my husband and I went to the Canadian Rockies to do some mountaineering, and the veggie selection in those days at the grocery store in Banff was beyond dismal. We would just drive around and pick dandelions whenever we wanted greens.

I too have had liver issues, and while I can't pinpoint any positive effect these wild greens have had, I can only assume their effect is beneficial since they're pretty bitter and very, very green (not sure about the bowel issues). When plants grow in the wild, they tend to be more nutritious than their cultivated counterparts. And of course they're very fresh and you haven't used much (maybe nothing) in the way of petrochemicals to grow and ship them to your door. They're delicious, too, especially with something with a nutty flavor, such as brown rice or whole wheat pasta. Toss in some red pepper flakes, too. I say release your inner hunter-gatherer and eat those greens. Sure beats using Round-Up on 'em.

Offline RobinJ

• Alumni
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 05:47:29 PM »
Thanks Jodi!

Is is best to harvest the leaves when they are young in the spring or can you eat them anytime?

Offline AlisonA

• Alumni
    • Whole Gourmet Natural Cooking
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 08:38:28 AM »