Bauman College Programs

Author Topic: need cleansing recipes  (Read 3599 times)

Offline CrystalC

• Alumni
need cleansing recipes
« on: April 01, 2008, 10:58:40 AM »
Hi. I am just getting started with NC.  I thought I would ask folks to share some healthy, cleansing recipes to help complete my module 1 meal plan homework. The recipes would preferably be cleansing, liver friendly recipes. I am sure I can come up with some on my own, but it is seven days worth of meals.  Thanks for sharing!  ;D

Offline Cathy Crystal

• Academic Supervisor, DL Administrator
  • Faculty
  • Herbalist, Yoga Instructor, Organic Farmer, Dancer
Re: need cleansing recipes
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 12:49:32 PM »
Hi Crystal
Don't forget that your recipes need to be specific for a specific liver condition and season. You are also to focus on specific nutrients. The assignmnet is to design a 7 day meal plan, but you only need to turn in 5 recipes. Check out Elson Haas 7 day detox for some recipes.

Cathy

Offline CrystalC

• Alumni
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2008, 05:05:07 PM »
Thank you, Cathy! That was a good reminder.

Crystal

Offline KimW

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2008, 09:00:00 AM »
Hi Crystal,

I am not sure if this will meet your specific needs, but I wanted to share this delicious recipe from the book "Integrative Nutrition" by Joshua Rosenthal.  (New York, Integrative Nutrition Publishing, 2008)  I've found it to be a great quick, easy and very satisfying light meal. 

Enjoy,
Kim

Oh So Delicious Green Cleanser

This dish has got all of the five tastes: sweet, sour, bitter, salty and pungent.  It can be helpful in bringing balance to the system after a period of not so healthy eating.

Prep Time:  8 minutes
Cooking Time:  5 minutes
Serves 4

1 bunch lacinato kale
1/2 medium daikon
1 T tamari
1 t toasted sesame oil
1 T brown rice vinegar
1 T agave nectar
1 T nutritional yeast flakes

-Heat a medium sized pot with 2 inches of water.